Eight Point Two


92 Days To go…#DigDeepPeakDistrict !!

There is now 92 days to go until the UTPD trail ultra marathon and Amy has sent us her latest training installment.  You’ll be seeing a bit more of Amy in our next film where the emphasis will be on nutrition, which I’m sure many of you will agree is a bit of a minefield! There is so much information out there it’s hard to know where to start and what is right for one person isn’t always the best thing for another.  So hopefully our next film might be able to give you an idea on where to start and also an insight into how other athletes eat.  Happy training this weekend and now over to Amy…

trail running races in the peak district

“I’ve just finished the 12th week of my 25 week training plan for the UTPD, which has been a 60 mile week.  The whole plan looked really daunting when I stuck it on the wall at the end of last year, so it’s really satisfying to see I’ve now nearly reached the halfway point!

I’ve been really enjoying my long runs over the past few weekends. I think this is in part due to improving weather (a little bit of sun does a lot for morale!) and also part due to the fact that I have been noticing improvement in my performance – I feel like I’m hurting less and recovering faster than before and it’s good to think that my hard work is taking effect!

Amy Freeman, training for UTPD, in Mammut

Amy Freeman, training for UTPD, in Mammut

I ran my first long race of the year this weekend, the 32 mile Haworth Hobble, and I really enjoyed it. My first ultra was the Dig Deep Intro last July, which took me 7 hours to complete. The Hobble has similar elevation and is 2 miles longer, but I finished in 6 hours which I am super happy with. It was also nice to meet fellow UTPD first timer Drew, who recognised me from the training blog video, and chat about our training over post-race stew!

The UTPD is almost double the distance of my current long run, so I still have a lot of work to do and miles to clock in preparation.  But as I’m starting to see the effects of my training, I’m feeling confident I can get there. Fingers crossed!”

 

Check out our latest addition to the Dig Deep Race Series: Dig Deep Suffolk, 6th&7th September 2014.

Featuring 4 fantastic trail races through Suffolk:

5.5 mile Rendlesham Dash Suffolk Trail Race starts at 10:30am on Sunday 7th September £13.00

20KM Rendlesham Suffolk Trail race starts at 10:15am on Sunday 7th September £17.00

28 mile Suffolk Trail ‘Intro Ultra’ starts at 10am on Saturday 6th September £40.00

50 mile: ULTRA Tour of Suffolk  (Suffolk trail ultra marathon) starts at 8am on Saturday 6th September £55.00

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

