Eight Point Two


Matty Brennan – UTPD training Diary

Thanks to Matty Brennan for his first ultra marathon training diary installment.  We hope you enjoy reading what he is getting up to, whilst preparing for the Dig Deep Races UTPD!

Matty Brennan, training diary for UTPD

Matty Brennan, training diary for UTPD

I am currently in the 6th week of my 16 week UTPD training plan, and it’s starting to go well.  I think I’m pretty well recovered from my month of madness (just over 1 race per week from 1st December to the 18th of January – not recommended!) and feeling good.  Most of my training is either done on roads or canal path as I live about an hours drive away from any decent hills and have 2 small children and a wife who plays netball to share training time with.
 
My training plan comes from The Endurance Coach, which is based around a VO2 max test, with a 16 week training plan on the back of it with specific sessions and heart rate/pace to stick to.  I’m currently hanging around 40 miles per week, which will increase nearer to the race but not a great deal more – I put in a load of base training in the lead up to the Lakeland 100 last year, so it’s just speed I’m missing now!
 
Mostly this year my racing has consisted of cross country, and the Hardmoors 30 on New years day (where the photo is from – courtesy of Summit Fever Media).  Coming up is the Grizedale Trail Marathon next week, The Hardmoors 55 in March, the Highland Fling in April, the Old County Tops fell race (37 miles, 10,000ft of climb) in May, all in preparation for the UTPD in June.  Can’t wait!

Don’t forget that if you haven’t been on any parts of the courses for the Intro Ultra or UTPD then book yourself onto a Dig Deep Peak District RECCE day – coming up on March 16th – tickets £5 – Book Here!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

