Eight Point Two


Sally Fawcett – Training Diary

Sally Fawcett, who was one of the Filming Competition winners, has written a piece on her recent training.  Sally was the first female to finish the UTPD ultra marathon in 2012 and  she is now back to compete this year.

I now consider myself a fell runner, last year I was definitely a road runner with an interest in the fells but I had one goal to tick off. I had come so close to getting sub 3 hours in the marathon, I didn’t want to leave road running behind until I had reached that goal.
I had a blip in Nottingham marathon, pulling out at 18 miles last September with a slight muscle strain. Being a physio I listened to my body, treated it and strengthened the muscle so that 3 weeks later I had another go at the Amsterdam Marathon. I managed to get a switch from the half to the full marathon, ran really well to get my sub 3 (on my 8th marathon attempt), coming 20th female in 2hours and 57mins.
Now I’m happy to turn my back on the monotony of road running and enjoy the scenery fell running has to offer. I love the views, varied pace and proper food (mini pork pies are a favourite!) that come with fell running.
So, despite the weather I have been out exploring the hills, covering lots of the Ultra Tour of the Peaks route as I’m fortunate enough to have it on my doorstep.
Since January, I have covered the start/ finish in shorter runs around the Limb Valley, done the Moscar Loop in snow, and an epic long run of 30 miles over Strines Moor before picking up sections of the UTPD over Stanage Edge to the Pole and Wyming Brook.
It’s a bit early to be hitting high mileage for UTPD ultra marathon but I have a couple of other races first. I have the High Peak Marathon (42miles) on the 28th February then the Highland Fling (53miles) on the 26th April.  Add to that a couple of long fell races and the key for me will be recovery as much as the running, making sure I get plenty of rest days in!
Sally Fawcett

Sally Fawcett coming off Stanage Edge

Sally was lucky to win lots of trail running gear from the experts over at Outside (our retail partners) and Mammut (our race sponsors).  If you want to get to know the UTPD and Intro ultra trails and gain some expert insider knowledge then head along to our RECCE Day on the 16th March.  It will also be a great opportunity to check out the latest trail running gear from Outside in Hathersage – we will meet there at 9:45am.
Check out our latest addition to the Dig Deep Race Series: Dig Deep Suffolk, 6th&7th September 2014.
Featuring 4 fantastic trail races through Suffolk:
5.5 mile Rendlesham Dash Suffolk Trail Race starts at 10:30am on Sunday 7th September £13.00
20KM Rendlesham Suffolk Trail race starts at 10:15am on Sunday 7th September £17.00
28 mile Suffolk Trail ‘Intro Ultra’ starts at 10am on Saturday 6th September £40.00
50 mile: ULTRA Tour of Suffolk (Suffolk trail ultra marathon) starts at 8am on Saturday 6th September £55.00

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

